Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Dr. Dog » Alternative Health & Feeding

Post subject: New Lacy/Raw diet
 Post Posted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 10:15 pm 

I am new to the Lacy, and just got my first one 2 days ago. I am interested in a raw diet, and have lots of venison in the freezer now. How much should my 7 week old puppy be eating and how much should I expect as she grows.

Thanks,

Justin

Post subject: Re: New Lacy/Raw diet
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 28, 2010 12:09 am 
NLDA Lifetime Member

A new lacy dog owner and raw feeder!! Doesnt get any better than that!!! What is her name?

I would feed your pup 3 times a day, if possible. Thats hard for someone who is gone all day, but that is best. If you cant feed that, then feed the pup twice a day. You will feed the same amount as you will feed when the pup is grown. Your lacy should be around 30 to 40 pounds and you should feed 2-3% of the adult weight. Thats gonna be around 1 1/2 pound to 2 pounds. I would go with the 1 1/2 for a female. With a puppy, you will have to just watch and if the pup stays too fat, then cut back a bit. If the pup stays too thin, add some. With puppys its a bit harder to tell when they are too fat!!! Especially when everyone loves a fat puppy!! But, you can tell if they are either one. You should be able to start with the deer, since you are feeding a pup. Divide the 1 1/2 pounds by the times of day that you are feeding. It doesnt have to be exact- just divide it into 2 or 3 meals.