Register    Login    Forum    Search    FAQ

Board index » Dr. Dog » Breeding & Genetics

Post subject: What the heck?
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 9:21 pm 

So, Chula had her litter a few days ago and I was confused by the outcome. It may just be because I'm not too experienced in breeding Lacys, but this litter really defied my expectations of odd...

First off, has anyone ever had a pup that came out with real dark skin but red fur? He looks like he may turn out with a saddlebacked or like a BMC coloration -- my dad has this "reverse tri" theory. :)) Regardless of what we think, have any of yall seen a pup come out like this before?

Secondly, does anyone have any record of alot of white occuring in Grahm-bred dogs? A few of these pups have white specks on their faces and we're trying to pinpoint where that may have come in...

And, I'm sure this is heard alot, but I've never seen pups this light in my Lacy litters... Will those three cream pups darken up? All the reds that I've seen out of past litters came out dark like the one in the right corner.

My Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/11972487@N04/

Post subject: Re: What the heck?
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 10:08 pm 

Those pics do not show what you describe very well. Can you get some individual head-on pictures of the pups?

I can tell that there are two dang good looking creams and a blue. The other two, I can only assume the ones you refer to, look like a red and MAYBE a brown dilute (sliver)????

Steve

Remember the dog wags the pedigree and the reverse is not true.

16, intelligent and articulate, I'm a fan!

Post Posted: Sat Aug 22, 2009 10:34 pm 

Well, my photos came out terrible. I get can't new pictures till next Friday, since I'm not at my dad's house now. But, here are some more I had of that weird puppy. This is the one that I want to know about.